Regulation and transport of proteins across cell membranes

Raffaele IEVA

Chargé de Recherche, CNRS
05 61 33 59 11

Team members

  LMGM
  • Anne SARCOS
  Professor
  • Cecile ALBENNE
  Postdoc
  • David RANAVA

Presentation

Topic

Living cells consist of one or more membrane-bound compartments. Cell membranes are composed of lipids and proteins that are involved in transport of solutes, energy conversion, signaling and secretion. Efficient membrane protein biogenesis and turnover are two opposite facets of an essential cellular task that ensures correct functioning of membrane-bound compartments. One central objective of our research is to decipher the pathways of regulation, biogenesis and turnover of integral membrane proteins. Furthermore we are interested in understanding how misfolded or damaged membrane proteins are detected and removed to preserve membrane integrity and functionality. To this end, we have developed two research axes.

 

Project 1: In Gram negative bacteria, the outermost lipid bilayer (or outer membrane) represents the first line of interaction with the colonized environment. The outer membrane of bacterial pathogens promotes both defense and attack strategies to interact with the host. It forms an essential permeability barrier that protects the bacterial cell from external chemo-physical insults and it secretes virulence factors that are ultimately targeted to the host. Integral outer membrane proteins (OMPs) span the lipid bilayer by folding into Beta-barrel structures. OMPs are susceptible to damage by oxidizing agents produced by the host innate immune response and external proteases. Elucidating how bacteria cope with these stresses is paramount to understand the molecular processes of host-pathogen interaction. We use Escherichia coli and Neisseria meningitidis as model organisms to study how damaged OMPs are detected and degraded thus preserving the functionality of the outer membrane as a permeability barrier and as a platform for protein secretions.

 

Project 2: Mitochondria are essential organelles of eukaryotic cells that evolved from an endosymbiotic relationship between a Gram negative bacterium and a eukaryotic cell ancestor. Mitochondria play different roles in many physiological processes, such as energy conversion, calcium homeostasis, lipid metabolism, iron-sulfur cluster biogenesis, and apoptosis. Reflecting their evolutional origin, mitochondria are surrounded by two membranes and harbor evolutionarily conserved protein transport machineries. The outer membrane contains integral membrane proteins that fold into beta barrel structures, similarly to bacterial OMPs. Certain bacterial pathogens exploit evolutionarily conserved protein transport pathways to target virulence factors to mitochondria and interfere with mitochondria-regulated processes. We are interested in understanding how OMPs and other virulence factors are released from bacteria and how they traffic in the host cell and target mitochondria.

 

By elucidating the molecular mechanisms that are essential for stress survival and host infection, our work will contribute to the research on novel antibiotics and new vaccination strategies capable of disarming noxious bacteria.

 

Publications

  • Turakhiya U, von der Malsburg K, Gold V, Guiard B, Chacinska A, van der Laan M, Ieva R*..
    Protein import by the mitochondrial presequence translocase in the absence of a membrane potential.
    J Mol Biol
    2016 Jan in press
  • Gold V, Ieva R, Pfanner N, van der Laan M, Kühlbrandt W. .
    Visualizing mitochondrial protein import in action by electron cryo-tomography.
    Nat Commun, 5:4129.
    2014 Jan
  • Ieva R, Schrempp SG, Opaliński L, Wollweber F, Höß F, Heißwolf AK, Gebert M, Zhang Y, Guiard B, Rospert S, Becker T, Chacinska A, Pfanner N, and van der Laan M. .
    Mgr2 functions as lateral gatekeeper for preprotein sorting in the mitochondrial inner membrane.
    Mol Cell, 56:641-52.
    2014 Jan
  • Ieva R, Heißwolf AK, Gebert M, Vögtle FN, Wollweber F, Mehnert CS, Oeljeklaus S, Warscheid B, Meisinger C, van der Laan M, Pfanner N. .
    Mitochondrial inner membrane protease promotes assembly of presequence translocase by removing a carboxy-terminal targeting sequence.
    Nat Commun, 4:2853.
    2013 Jan
  • Ieva R, Tian P, Peterson J, Bernstein HD. .
    Sequential and spatially restricted interactions of assembly factors with an autotransporter β domain.
    Proc Natl Acad Sci USA, 108:E383-91.
    2011 Jan

Funding

     

Université Paul Sabatier
118 Route de Narbonne

31062 TOULOUSE Cedex
France

Annuaire général

Régulation et transport des protéines à travers les membranes cellulaires

Raffaele IEVA


Chargé de Recherche, CNRS
05 61 33 59 11

Membres de l'équipe

  Enseignant/chercheur
  • Cecile ALBENNE
  Postdoc
  • David RANAVA
  Etudiant en Master
  • Cyril MOULIN
  • Lucyle POINOT

Présentation

Topic

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Les cellules vivantes sont constituées d’un ou plusieurs compartiments liés à la membrane. Les membranes cellulaires sont composées de lipides et de protéines impliquées dans le transport des solutés, la conversion énergétique, la signalisation et la sécrétion. La biogénèse et la dégradation des protéines membranaires sont deux aspects opposés d’un processus cellulaire essentiel qui assure le fonctionnement correct des compartiments liés à la membrane. Un de nos objectifs principaux est de comprendre les processus moléculaires par lesquelles les protéines sont adressées, insérées ou transportées à travers les membranes. En outre, nous recherchons par quels mécanismes les protéines mal repliées ou endommagées sont détectées et éliminées de manière à préserver l’intégrité et la fonctionnalité membranaire. Pour cela, nous avons développé deux axes de recherche.

Projet 1: Chez les bactéries à Gram négatif, la bicouche lipidique la plus externe (ou membrane externe) représente la première ligne d’interaction avec l’environnement colonisé. La membrane externe des pathogènes bactériens contribue à la fois aux stratégies de défense et d’attaque lors de l’interaction avec l’hôte. Elle forme une barrière de perméabilité essentielle qui protège les cellules bactériennes des agressions physico-chimiques venant de l’extérieur et elle sécrète des facteurs de virulence qui ciblent l’hôte. Les protéines intégrales de la membrane externe (OMPs) traversent la bicouche lipidique en se repliant dans des structures en tonneau beta. Les OMPs sont sensibles aux dommages occasionnées par les agents oxydants produits par la réponse immunitaire naturelle de l’hôte et les protéases externes. La détermination des mécanismes par lesquels la bactérie fait face à ces stress est primordiale afin de comprendre les processus moléculaires de l’interaction hôte-pathogène. Nous utilisons Escherichia coli et Neisseria meningitidis comme organismes modèles afin d’étudier comment les OMPS endommagées sont détectées et dégradées afin de préserver la fonctionalité de la membrane externe en tant que barrière perméable et plateforme pour la sécrétion des protéines.

Projet 2: Les mitochondries sont des organelles essentiels des cellules eucaryotes et qui ont évolué à partir d’une relation endosymbiotique entre une bactérie à Gram négatif et une cellule eucaryote primitive. Elles jouent différents rôles dans plusieurs processus physiologiques comme la production d’énergie, l’homéostasie du calcium, le métabolisme lipidique, la biogénèse des   clusters Fer-Soufre et l’apoptose. De par leur origine évolutive, les mitochondries sont entourées par deux membranes et comprennent des machineries conservées de transport des protéines. La membrane externe contient des protéines membranaires qui se replient en structures de type tonneau beta comme les OMPs chez les bactéries. Certains pathogènes bactériens exploitent cette voie conservée de transport des protéines pour cibler des facteurs de virulence aux mitochondries et entraver les processus cellulaires régulés par les mitochondries. Nous sommes intéressés par comprendre comment les OMPs et les autres facteurs de virulence sont relâchés à partir des bactéries et comment ils circulent dans la cellule hôte pour cibler les mitochondries.

En élucidant les mécanismes moléculaires essentiels à la survie face aux stress et l’infection de l’hôte, notre travail contribuera à la recherche de nouveaux antibiotiques à l’élaboration de nouvelles stratégies de vaccination capables lutter contre les bactéries nocives.


 

 

Publications

  • Turakhiya U, von der Malsburg K, Gold V, Guiard B, Chacinska A, van der Laan M, Ieva R*..
    Protein import by the mitochondrial presequence translocase in the absence of a membrane potential.
    J Mol Biol
    2016 Jan in press
  • Gold V, Ieva R, Pfanner N, van der Laan M, Kühlbrandt W. .
    Visualizing mitochondrial protein import in action by electron cryo-tomography.
    Nat Commun, 5:4129.
    2014 Jan
  • Ieva R, Schrempp SG, Opaliński L, Wollweber F, Höß F, Heißwolf AK, Gebert M, Zhang Y, Guiard B, Rospert S, Becker T, Chacinska A, Pfanner N, and van der Laan M. .
    Mgr2 functions as lateral gatekeeper for preprotein sorting in the mitochondrial inner membrane.
    Mol Cell, 56:641-52.
    2014 Jan
  • Ieva R, Heißwolf AK, Gebert M, Vögtle FN, Wollweber F, Mehnert CS, Oeljeklaus S, Warscheid B, Meisinger C, van der Laan M, Pfanner N. .
    Mitochondrial inner membrane protease promotes assembly of presequence translocase by removing a carboxy-terminal targeting sequence.
    Nat Commun, 4:2853.
    2013 Jan
  • Ieva R, Tian P, Peterson J, Bernstein HD. .
    Sequential and spatially restricted interactions of assembly factors with an autotransporter β domain.
    Proc Natl Acad Sci USA, 108:E383-91.
    2011 Jan

Université Paul Sabatier
118 Route de Narbonne

31062 TOULOUSE Cedex
France

Annuaire général