Adult neurogenesis and memory

Intervenants

The discovery, in the early 2000s, of neural stem cells capable of producing new neurons in the adult mammalian brain has opened up a new field of investigation. To date, we know that adult-born neurons in the hippocampus participate to memory processes and mood regulation. Interestingly, hippocampal neurogenesis has been found to be disrupted in neuropsychiatric diseases affecting memory abilities, such as Alzheimer's disease or major depression. Through the combined use of behavioral approaches, histological, molecular and viral techniques, we examine how adult-generated neurons contribute to the formation of memories in the healthy brain. We also investigate how environmental or targeted genetic manipulations of neural stem cells could enhance the production of new functional neurons in the adult brain and promote the recovery of memory functions in the diseased brain.

Current projects of the team focus on:

  • The contribution of mitochondria to the fonctional et morphological development of new neurons in the hippocampus of the normal or pathological brain (Claire Rampon, Lionel Moulédous, Sébastien Lopez, collaboration MC Miquel- CRCA, D Blum- Lille)
  • The genetic manipulation of endogenous neural stem cells to improve mnesic performance in mouse models of Alzheimer's disease (Claire Rampon, Lionel Mouledous, Sébastien Lopez, Manon Marque, collaborations MC Miquel- CRCA, C Crozet-Montpellier)
  • The behavioral validation of new mouse models of Alzheimer's disease based on patients iPSCs (Claire Rampon, Lionel Moulédous, Sébastien Lopez, collab J Kohistinao, T Malm-Finland)
  • The manipulation of thalamic nuclei activity and its consequences on memory consolidation and hippocampal neurogenesis (Claire Rampon, Camille Lejards, collab JC Cassel- A Pereira- Strasbourg)
  • The links between sociality acquisition and adult neurogenesis (Claire Rampon, Iulia Antioch, collab R Jeanson- CRCA)
  • The study of neurogenic effects of environmental enrichment on the response to antidepressants in a chronic stress model (Claire Rampon, Bruno Guiard, Lionel Moulédous, Basile Coutens, collab V Masetti, Clinea, A Yrondi, CHU Toulouse)

Funding

           

Résultat de recherche d'images pour Clinique SSR

Institute

Université Paul Sabatier
118 Route de Narbonne

31062 TOULOUSE Cedex
France

Annuaire général

Neurogenèse adulte et mémoire

Intervenants

La découverte, au début des années 2000, de cellules souches neurales capables de produire de nouveaux neurones dans le cerveau des mammifères adultes a ouvert un vaste domaine d’investigation. On sait aujourd’hui que les neurones formés dans l’hippocampe à l’âge adulte participent aux processus mnésiques et à la régulation de l’humeur. De façon intéressante, la neurogenèse hippocampique est perturbée dans certaines maladies neuropsychiatriques affectant les capacités mnésiques, telles que la maladie d’Alzheimer ou la dépression. Grâce à l’utilisation combinée d’approches comportementales et de techniques histologiques, moléculaires et virales, nous examinons comment les nouveaux neurones contribuent à la formation des souvenirs dans le cerveau sain. Nous recherchons également comment des manipulations environnementales ou des manipulations génétiques ciblées des cellules souches neurales pourraient stimuler la production de nouveaux neurones fonctionnels et ainsi favoriser la récupération des fonctions mnésiques dans le cerveau malade.

Nos projets actuels concernent :  

  • La contribution du système mitochondrial au développement fonctionnel et morphologique des nouveaux neurones de l’hippocampe du cerveau sain et malade (Claire Rampon, Lionel Mouledous, Sébastien Lopez, Stella Manta, collaboration MC Miquel- CRCA, D Blum- Lille)
  • La manipulation génétique de cellules souches neurales endogènes pour améliorer les performances mnésiques de souris modèles de la maladie d’Alzheimer (Claire Rampon, Lionel Mouledous, Aude Deleau, collaborations MC Miquel- CRCA, C Crozet-Montpellier)
  • La validation comportementale de nouveaux modèles murins de la maladie d’Alzheimer basés sur l’utilisation d’iPSC de patients (Claire Rampon, Lionel Mouledous, Stella Manta, Sébastien Lopez, collab J Kohistinao, T Malm-Finland)
  • La manipulation de l’activité des noyaux thalamiques et ses conséquences sur la consolidation mnésique et la neurogenèse hippocampique (Claire Rampon, Camille Lejards, collab JC Cassel- A Pereira- Strasbourg)
  • Les liens entre acquisition de la socialité et neurogenèse adulte (Claire Rampon, collab R Jeanson- CRCA)
  • L' étude des effets neurogéniques de l’exposition à un environnement enrichi dans la réponse aux antidépresseurs dans un modèle de stress chronique (Claire Rampon, Bruno Guiard, Lionel Moulédous, Basile Coutens, collab Clinea)

Financements

           

Résultat de recherche d'images pour Clinique SSR

Université Paul Sabatier
118 Route de Narbonne

31062 TOULOUSE Cedex
France

Annuaire général