Interplay between bacterial segregation and conjugation: StbAB

Intervenants

  • Jean-yves Bouet
  • Valentin Quebre
  • Hicham Sekkouri-alaoui
  • Romain Miranda-capet

Worldwide dissemination of multidrug resistance (MDR) within bacterial populations is a major issue in public health. One of the main driving forces of MDR dissemination within bacterial populations is horizontal gene transfer of conjugative plasmids.

Conjugative plasmids encode genes necessary and sufficient for their horizontal propagation via conjugation, but also for their maintenance in a growing population by vertical transfer to the daughter cells during cell division (segregation). Segregation systems locate plasmid copies in the two daughter cells prior to cell division. They are composed of three elements - two genes encoding an NTPase and a DNA binding protein, and a cis-acting centromeric site. However, the extensive sequencing of biological samples has revealed that an increasing number of low copy number plasmids do not encode canonical segregation systems, thus questioning on how they are maintained in a bacterial population. Our studies show that among them, plasmid R388 encodes segregation system of a new type consisting of a single plasmid-encoded DNA binding protein, StbA, and a specific cis-acting site, called stbDR.

Moreover, albeit segregation and conjugation are critical processes for the prevalence of plasmids, they require exclusive subcellular dynamic behaviors of plasmids within the bacterial cell: conjugation requires the recruitment of the plasmid at the cell membrane, while plasmid copies are positioned inside the nucleoid during segregation. Our data hint for the first time a "molecular switch" responsible for alternating these two processes, the Stb system. Indeed, StbA, together with another protein encoded by the stb operon, StbB, control conjugation in an opposite but interdependent fashion. While deletion of the entire stb operon does not affect conjugation, a large increase (50-fold) or complete inhibition of the frequency of conjugation is observed with the deletion of stbA or stbB, respectively. The stb operon is carried by many plasmids, including our R388 conjugative plasmid model, which belongs to the IncW group of broad-host conjugative plasmids found in many bacterial genera, most Proteobacteria (including multidrug-resistant pathogens from the ESKAPE group responsible for the majority of bacterial infections in humans). Our study also shows that a single mutation, for example leading to the inactivation of StbA, can lead to the emergence of plasmids with increased ability to spread ("superspreaders"). An integrated understanding of the molecular mechanisms for conjugation, segregation and their interplay at single cell level is essential for a proper action to fight against MDR dissemination. 

We use a multi-scale approach to understand how the Stb system controls plasmid propagation, including biochemistry, genome-wide molecular genetics, crystallography, fluorescence microscopy (classical or coupled to a microfluidic system, and super resolution), etc ...

Funding

   

Institute

Université Paul Sabatier
118 Route de Narbonne

31062 TOULOUSE Cedex
France

Annuaire général

Interplay between bacterial segregation and conjugation: StbAB

Intervenants

  • Jean-Yves Bouet
  • Jérôme Rech
  • Catherine Guynet

Le transfert des plasmides entre les bactéries par conjugaison est l'un des principaux acteurs de la dissémination mondiale des résistances multiples aux antibiotiques (RMA), dont la lutte est aujourd'hui une priorité pour l'OMS tant il constitue un problème majeur de santé publique.

Les plasmides conjugatifs codent les gènes nécessaires et suffisants pour leur propagation horizontale via la conjugaison, mais aussi pour leur maintien dans une population croissante par transfert vertical vers les cellules filles lors de la division cellulaire (ségrégation). Les systèmes de ségrégation localisent les copies de plasmides au sein des deux cellules filles avant la division cellulaire. Ils sont composés de trois éléments - deux gènes codant une NTPase et une protéine de liaison à l'ADN, et un site de type centromère agissant en cis. Cependant, le séquençage extensif d'échantillons biologiques a révélé un nombre croissant de plasmides à faible nombre de copies ne portant pas de système de ségrégation canonique, soulevant ainsi la question de leur maintien dans une population bactérienne. Nos études montrent que, parmi eux, le plasmide R388 code un système de ségrégation d'un nouveau type constitué d'une seule protéine de liaison à l'ADN codée par le plasmide, StbA, et d'un site spécifique agissant en cis, appelé stbDR.

Par ailleurs, bien que la ségrégation et la conjugaison soient des processus critiques pour la prévalence des plasmides, elles nécessitent des comportements dynamiques subcellulaires exclusifs des plasmides au sein de la cellule bactérienne: la conjugaison nécessite le recrutement du plasmide au niveau de la membrane cellulaire, alors que les copies du plasmide sont positionnées à l'intérieur du nucléoïde lors de la ségrégation. Nos données mettent en évidence pour la première fois un "switch moléculaire" responsable de l'alternance entre ces deux processus, le système Stb. En effet, StbA, avec une autre protéine codée par l'opéron stb, StbB, contrôlent la conjugaison de manière opposée mais interdépendante. Alors que la délétion de l'opéron stb entier n'affecte pas la conjugaison, une forte augmentation (50 fois) ou une inhibition totale de la fréquence de conjugaison est observée avec la délétion de stbA ou de stbB, respectivement. L'opéron stb est porté par de nombreux plasmides, dont notre modèle le plasmide conjugatif R388,  qui appartient au groupe IncW de plasmides conjugatifs à large spectre d'hôtes présents dans de nombreux genres bactériens, la plupart des Proteobacteries (y compris les pathogènes multirésistants du groupe ESKAPE responsables de la majorité des infections bactériennes chez l'homme). Notre étude démontre également qu'une seule mutation, par exemple conduisant à l'inactivation de StbA, peut conduire à l'émergence de plasmides avec une capacité à se propager fortement accrue ("superspreader"). Une compréhension intégrée des mécanismes moléculaires du transfert conjugatif, de la ségrégation et de leurs interactions au niveau de la cellule unique est essentielle pour une action appropriée de lutte contre la dissémination des RMA.

Nous utilisons une approche multi-échelle pour comprendre comment le système Stb contrôle la propagation des plasmides, et notamment la biochimie, la génétique moléculaire à l'échelle du génome entier, la cristallographie, la microscopie à fluorescence (classique ou couplée à un système microfluidique, et super résolution), etc ...

 

Financements

 

Université Paul Sabatier
118 Route de Narbonne

31062 TOULOUSE Cedex
France

Annuaire général