Mitochondria and Axonal degeneration in DOA: a story of shape and function.

Intervenants

  • Pascale Belenguer

P.I. P. Belenguer, MC Miquel

Distal axonal and synaptic dysfunctions precede, and might even be causative for neuronal loss in neurodegenerative diseases. There is growing evidence that mitochondria, by their function, repartition and motility, play a crucial role in the retrograde propagation of the degenerative signal. DOA is characterized by the progressive loss of retinal ganglionic cells (RGC), which axons form the optic nerve. This neurodegenerative pathology is due to mutations in the gene encoding OPA1, leading to mitochondrial dysfunctions and misdistribution along neurites.

To determine why RGC are especially sensitive to an OPA1-depleted environment and to better prevent RGC loss in DOA, we focus in this project on the properties of RGC axons using retinal explants of DOA mice and innovative culture devices based on microfluidics, that enable axonal growth through micro-channels of different shapes.

 

 

 

Former PI/ Marion Szelechowski (post-doct)

Collaborators: Jean-Michel Peyrin (Institut de Biologie Paris Seine, CNRS UMR 8246/INSERM U 1130, Paris), Alexandra Rebsam (Institut de la Vision, Paris)

 

Publications:

  • Lassus B, Magnifico S, Pignon S, Belenguer P, Miquel MC & Peyrin JM (2016) Alterations of mitochondrial dynamics allow retrograde propagation of locally initiated axonal insults, Scientific Report, 8;6: 32777.
  • Magnifico S, Saias L, Deleglise B, Duplus E, Kilinc D, Miquel MC, Viovy JL, Brugg B, Peyrin JM. (2013) NAD+ acts on mitochondrial SirT3 to prevent axonal caspase activation and axonal degeneration. FASEB J., 27(12) 4712-22.
  • Bertholet AM, Millet A, Guillermin O, Daloyau M., Davezac N., Miquel MC, Belenguer P. (2013) OPA1 loss of function affects in vitro neuronal maturation BRAIN, 136:1518-33.

Funding

     

Institute

Université Paul Sabatier
118 Route de Narbonne

31062 TOULOUSE Cedex
France

Annuaire général

Mitochondria and Axonal degeneration in DOA: a story of shape and function.

Intervenants

  • Pascale BELENGUER
  • Marlène BOTELLA
  • Marie-Christine MIQUEL

P.I. : P. Belenguer/ M.-C. Miquel

Les dysfonctionnements axonaux distaux et perturbations des synapses précèdent, et sont probablement à l'origine de la perte neuronale observée dans les maladies neurodégénératives. De plus en plus d'arguments militent en faveur d'un rôle des mitochondries, lié à leurs fonctions,  répartition et  mobilité, dans la propagation rétrograde du signal de neurodégénérescence. L'Atrophie Optique Dominante (AOD) est caractérisées par la perte progressive des cellules ganglionaires de la rétine (CGR), dont l'axone forme le nerf optique. Cette pathologie neurodégénérative est due à des mutations dans le gène codant la protéine OPA1, qui provoquent des dysfonctionnements des mitochodries et une altération de leur distribution le long des prolongements neuronaux.

 

Pour comprendre ce qui détermine la sensibilité accrue des CGR à cette condition de baisse de la quantité d'OPA1 et, à terme, prévenir la perte de ces cellules dans l'AOD, ce projet est centré sur l'élucidation des propriétés des axones des RGC, en utilisant des explants de rétine ainsi que des chambres de culture microfluidiques innovantes qui permettent une compartimentalisation des axones au travers de micro-canaux de formes différentes.

 

 

 

Investigatrice précédente/ Marion Szelechowski (post-doctorante)

Collaborators: Jean-Michel Peyrin (Institut de Biologie Paris Seine, CNRS UMR 8246/INSERM U 1130, Paris), Alexandra Rebsam (Institut de la Vision, Paris)

 

Publications:

  • Lassus B, Magnifico S, Pignon S, Belenguer P, Miquel MC & Peyrin JM (2016) Alterations of mitochondrial dynamics allow retrograde propagation of locally initiated axonal insults, Scientific Report, 8;6: 32777.
  • Magnifico S, Saias L, Deleglise B, Duplus E, Kilinc D, Miquel MC, Viovy JL, Brugg B, Peyrin JM. (2013) NAD+ acts on mitochondrial SirT3 to prevent axonal caspase activation and axonal degeneration. FASEB J., 27(12) 4712-22.
  • Bertholet AM, Millet A, Guillermin O, Daloyau M., Davezac N., Miquel MC, Belenguer P. (2013) OPA1 loss of function affects in vitro neuronal maturation BRAIN, 136:1518-33.

Financements

     

Université Paul Sabatier
118 Route de Narbonne

31062 TOULOUSE Cedex
France

Annuaire général