About the institute

Understanding the functioning of living organisms is the ambition of the Centre for Integrative Biology (CBI) in Toulouse. To achieve this goal, the CBI develops multidisciplinary, multi-scale approaches, from isolated molecules to whole organisms and animal societies, and uses numerous model organisms, from bacteria to humans.

 

At its origin in 2016, the Federation of Research in Fundamental Biology was created under the supervision of the National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) and the University Toulouse III-Paul Sabatier (UPS). Today, the CBI brings together more than 400 people, working in 38 research groups, in three laboratories: Microbiology (LMGM), Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCD), and Animal Cognition (CRCA).

 

CBI groups, platforms and services are composed of researchers, faculty members, PhD and post-doctoral students, administrative and technical staff, not only from the CNRS, but also from the University and INSERM, making it one of the most important scientific research centres in France.

 

Seven themes structure the research developed at the CBI :

 

 

 

This research is in line with societal issues such as health and well-being, medicine of the future and artificial intelligence, as defined by our supervisory bodies, the Occitanie region and more broadly Europe.

 

The centre offers research groups an environment at the cutting edge of technology, thanks to 5 research support services and 8 technological platforms featuring innovative equipment, particularly in life imaging and electron microscopy, image analysis, bioinformatics and behaviour analysis (see Organisation chart).

 

 

 

As a recognised training centre, the CBI welcomes many students and trainees every year. It contributes especially to the training of masters and PhD students, and post-doctoral researchers. It offers a mentoring programme to guide and support young colleagues in achieving their professional goals. The CBI also plays a major role in teaching, from bachelor's to master's degrees, with nearly 50 professors and lecturers in a wide range of fields at the Paul Sabatier University. CBI groups are attached to the doctoral schools of Biology, Health, Biotechnology (BSB), Ecological Sciences, Veterinary, Agronomy and Bioengineering (SEVAB), and the University Research School (EUR) Cancer, Aging and Rejuvenation (CARE).

CBI research groups also benefit from a highly collaborative and innovative scientific environment, thanks to location on the main campus of the Université Toulouse III-Paul Sabatier, which offers multidisciplinary training in the fields of science, health, engineering, technology and sports.   Interdisciplinary approaches with physics, mathematics, nanotechnology, computer science and chemistry are promoted and developed. The Paul Sabatier University also includes two university hospitals. The CBI is a member of the Toulouse Biologie-Santé network, dedicated to the dissemination of knowledge and information, in a coordinated manner between the various centres involved in the field of biological and health research.

Institute

Université Paul Sabatier
118 Route de Narbonne

31062 TOULOUSE Cedex
France

Annuaire général

Présentation de l'institut

Comprendre le fonctionnement des organismes vivants, telle est l’ambition du Centre de biologie intégrative (CBI), à Toulouse. Pour atteindre cet objectif, le CBI développe des approches multidisciplinaires, multi-échelles des molécules isolées aux organismes entiers et aux sociétés animales, et utilise de nombreux organismes modèles, des bactéries à l'homme.

 

A son origine, en 2016, une Fédération de Recherche en biologie fondamentale est créée sous la tutelle du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) et de l'Université Toulouse III - Paul Sabatier (UPS). Aujourd’hui, le CBI rassemble plus de 400 personnes, réparties dans ses 38 équipes de recherche, au sein de trois laboratoires : Microbiologie (LMGM),Biologie Moléculaire, Cellulaire et du Développement (MCD) et Cognition Animale (CRCA).

 

Ses équipes, plateformes et services sont composés de chercheu.r.se.s, d’enseignant.e.s-chercheu.r.se.s, de doctorant.e.s et post-doctorant.e.s, de personnels administratifs et techniques du CNRS, mais aussi de l'Université et de l'INSERM qui en font l'un des plus importants pôles de recherche scientifique en France.

 

Sept thématiques structurent les recherches développées au CBI :

 

 

Ces recherches sont en lien avec les enjeux sociétaux comme la santé et le bien-être, la médecine du futur ou encore l’intelligence artificielle définis par nos tutelles, la région Occitanie et plus largement l’Europe.

 

Le centre offre aux équipes de recherche un environnement à la pointe des technologies grâce à 5 services de soutien à la recherche et 8 plateformes technologiques qui comportent des équipements innovants, notamment en imagerie du vivant et en microscopie électronique, en analyse d'images, bio-informatique ou encore en analyse du comportement (cf. Organigramme).

 

 

 

Également centre de formation reconnu, le CBI accueille, chaque année, de nombreux étudiant.es et stagiaires. Il contribue notamment à la formation par la recherche de masters, doctorant.e.s et chercheu.r.se.s post-doctoraux. Il offre un programme de « mentoring » pour guider et accompagner ces jeunes collègues afin qu’ils.elles atteignent leur objectif professionnel. Le CBI joue également un rôle majeur dans l'enseignement, de la licence au master, avec près de 50 professeur.e.s et maitres.ses de conférences qui enseignent dans de nombreux domaines à l'Université Paul Sabatier. Les équipes du CBI sont rattachées aux écoles doctorales Biologie, Santé, Biotechnologies (BSB), Sciences Ecologiques, Vétérinaires, Agronomiques et Bioingénieries (SEVAB) et à l’Ecole Universitaire de Recherche (EUR) « Cancer, Aging and Rejuvenation (CARE).

Les équipes de recherche du CBI bénéficient par ailleurs d'un environnement scientifique hautement collaboratif et innovant grâce à sa situation sur le campus principal de l'Université Toulouse III-Paul Sabatier, qui offre une formation multidisciplinaire dans les domaines des sciences, de la santé, de l'ingénierie, de la technologie et des sports.   Les approches interdisciplinaires avec la physique, les mathématiques, les nanotechnologies, l'informatique et la chimie sont ainsi favorisées et développées. L'Université Paul Sabatier comprend également deux hôpitaux universitaires. Le CBI est membre du réseau "Toulouse Biologie-Santé", dédié à la diffusion des connaissances et des informations de manière coordonnée entre les différents centres de recherche dans le domaine de la recherche biologique et de la santé.

Université Paul Sabatier
118 Route de Narbonne

31062 TOULOUSE Cedex
France

Annuaire général