Non coding RNA and senescence
(E. Nicolas)

Intervenants

  • Didier Trouche
  • Mahdia Abdi galab

Cellular senescence is considered as a major anticancer pathway by restricting the proliferation of potentially cancerous cells. However the accumulation of senescent cells can drive normal and pathological aging-related diseases. Senescence can be induced in mammalian cells in response to various stresses, such as telomere shortening, DNA damages or oncogene activation. Senescent cells are in a state of permanent growth arrest and establish a specific genetic program. Another frequent hallmark of senescent cells is the reorganization of chromatin into heterochromatin foci, named SAHF (Senescence Associated Heterochromatin Foci).

Long non-coding RNAs (ncRNAs) participate in the regulation of gene expression in cis or in trans, mainly by allowing the correct structuration of chromatin. Our research interest is to identify long ncRNAs as new players of cellular senescence control and, as such, potentially important in cellular normal and pathological aging as well as in tumor suppressive mechanisms. Especially, as they remain little understood, we are studying the function and the regulation of ncRNAs, which are antisense to known genes.

We have generated large-scale datasets to measure the strand-specific gene expression, such as strand-specific RNA-seq datasets, in proliferation and senescence. Analyzing those datasets independently of the known annotations of the genome allowed us to uncover new ncRNAs whose expression increases in senescence.

VlincRNAs (very long intergenic non-coding RNAs) are recently described ncRNAs with unknown function. They are characterized by their very long size (> 50 kb) and transcribed from intergenic or antisense sequences. We have identified a vlincRNA, VAD, whose expression increases in senescence. VAD is important for senescence maintenance by inhibiting the incorporation of the histone variant H2A.Z at specific promoters, highlighting the involvement of ncRNA in the control of cellular senescence and in the localization of H2A.Z.

Recently we have identified a new family of antisense RNAs that occurs at convergent gene loci (adjacent genes in opposite orientation in the genome) by a defect of transcription termination of one of the two convergent genes. The expression of these ncRNAs, which we named START RNAs, is increased in senescence by an increase of RNA polymerase II (pol II) elongation rate downstream the termination site. Moreover START RNA expression is controlled by the histone variant H2A.Z. These START RNAs are functional as they can regulate the expression of the genes to which they are antisense. Altogether these results underline a new mechanism of gene expression regulation, without new initiation events, based on the epigenetic control of RNA pol II elongation rate downstream convergent protein-coding genes.

Our ongoing research focuses on these topics: to better understand the mechanisms of action of vlincRNAs and antisense transcripts during senescence, in relation with the regulation of chromatin structure such as the histone variant H2A.Z incorporation. We are performing large-scale data analysis accompanied by the study of the molecular and cellular functions of some specific ncRNAs.

 

Publications on the subject :

Muniz§, L., Deb§, M.K., Aguirrebengoa, M., Lazorthes, S., Trouche#, D., and Nicolas#,*, E. (2017). Control of Gene Expression in Senescence through Transcriptional Read-Through of Convergent Protein-Coding Genes. Cell Rep 21, 2433-2446. §, # : Equal contributions;  * : Corresponding author. Highlighted publication by the INSB/CNRS: http://www.cnrs.fr/insb/recherche/parutions/articles2017/e-nicolas.html

Laurent GS, Vyatkin Y, Antonets D, Ri M, Qi Y, Saik O, Shtokalo D, de Hoon MJ, Kawaji H, Itoh M, Lassmann T, Arner E, Forrest AR, consortium F, Nicolas E, McCaffrey TA, Carninci P, Hayashizaki Y, Wahlestedt C, Kapranov P (2016). Functional annotation of the vlinc class of non-coding RNAs using systems biology approach. Nucleic Acids Res 44, 3233-52.

Lazorthes S, Vallot§ C, Briois§ S, Aguirrebengoa M, Thuret JY, Laurent GS, Rougeulle C, Kapranov P, Mann C, Trouche# D, Nicolas#,* E. (2015). A vlincRNA participates in senescence maintenance by relieving H2AZ-mediated repression at the INK4 locus. Nat Commun 6, 5971. §, # : Equal contributions;  * : Corresponding author. Publication  highlighted by the INSB-CNRS http://www.cnrs.fr/insb/recherche/parutions/articles2014/e-nicolas.html

St Laurent, G., 3rd, Shtokalo, D., Dong, B., Tackett, M.R., Fan, X., Lazorthes, S., Nicolas, E., Sang, N., Triche, T.J., McCaffrey, T.A., Xiao, W., and Kapranov, P. (2013). VlincRNAs controlled by retroviral elements are a hallmark of pluripotency and cancer. Genome Biol 14, R73.

 

Past-members:

Marion Aguirrebengoa, Bioinformatician

Maharshi Deb, PhD

Sandra Lazorthes, PhD

Sébastien Briois, Bioinformatician

Funding

           

Institute

Université Paul Sabatier
118 Route de Narbonne

31062 TOULOUSE Cedex
France

Annuaire général

ARN non codant et sénescence
(E. Nicolas)

Intervenants

  • Didier Trouche
  • Mahdia Abdi galab

Responsable : E. Nicolas

La sénescence cellulaire est considérée comme une barrière anti cancer majeure en bloquant la prolifération de cellules potentiellement cancéreuses. Cependant l’accumulation de cellules sénescentes peut engendrer des maladies liées au vieillissement normal et pathologique. La sénescence peut être induite par différents stress comme le raccourcissement des télomères, les dommages à l’ADN ou l’activation d’oncogène. Les cellules sénescentes sont dans un état stable d’arrêt de la prolifération et établissent un programme génique spécifique. Une autre caractéristique fréquente des cellules sénescentes est la réorganisation de la chromatine en foyers d’hétérochromatine, appelés SAHF (Senescence Associated Heterochromatin Foci).

Les longs ARN non-codants (ARNnc) participent à la régulation de l’expression génique en cis ou en trans en agissant principalement sur la structuration de la chromatine. Notre projet de recherche s’intéresse à l’identification de longs ARNnc comme nouveaux acteurs dans le contrôle de la sénescence cellulaire et par la même susceptibles d'être impliqués dans le vieillissement cellulaire normal et pathologique ainsi que dans des mécanismes suppresseurs de tumeurs. Particulièrement, comme elles restent peu comprises, nous étudions la fonction et la régulation d’ARNnc qui sont antisens à des gènes connus. Nous avons généré des données à grande échelle mesurant l’expression génique de façon brin-spécifique telles que des données RNA-seq brin spécifique, en prolifération et en sénescence. L’analyse des ces données de façon indépendante de l’annotation connue du génome nous a permis de découvrir de nouveaux ARNnc dont l’expression augmente en sénescence.

Les vlincRNAs (very long intergenic non-coding RNAs), dont la fonction est inconnue, ont été récemment décrits. Ils sont caractérisés par leur très grande taille excédant les 50 kilobases provenant de la transcription de séquences intergéniques ou antisens à d’autres gènes. Nous avons identifié un vlincRNA, VAD, dont l’expression augmente en sénescence. VAD est important pour le maintien de la sénescence en inhibant l’incorporation du variant d’histone H2A.Z sur des promoteurs spécifiques, mettant ainsi en évidence l’implication d’ARNnc dans le contrôle de la sénescence cellulaire et dans la localisation de H2A.Z.

Récemment, nous avons identifié une nouvelle famille d’ARN antisens se produisant sur des gènes convergents (gènes adjacents en orientation inverse dans le génome) par un défaut de la terminaison de la transcription d’un des deux gènes convergents. L’expression de ces ARNnc, que nous avons appelés START RNAs, est augmentée en sénescence grâce à une augmentation de la vitesse d’élongation de l’ARN polymérase II (pol II) en aval du site de terminaison. De plus, l’expression des START RNAs est contrôlée par le variant d’histone H2A.Z. Ces START RNAs sont fonctionnels car ils régulent l’expression des gènes pour lesquels ils sont antisens. L’ensemble de ces résultats met en évidence un nouveau mécanisme de régulation de l’expression génique sans nouvel événement d’initiation de la transcription, basé sur le contrôle épigénétique de la vitesse d’élongation de l’ARN pol II en aval de gènes convergents.

Notre objectif de recherche en cours est focalisé sur ces thématiques : de mieux comprendre les mécanismes d’action des vlincRNAs et ARN antisens dans le processus de la sénescence cellulaire, en lien avec la régulation de la structure chromatinienne, comme l’incorporation du variant d’histone H2A.Z. Nous réalisons des analyses de données à grande échelle accompagnées de l’étude des fonctions moléculaire et cellulaire de certains ARNnc spécifiques.

 

Publications sur le sujet :

 Muniz§, L., Deb§, M.K., Aguirrebengoa, M., Lazorthes, S., Trouche#, D., and Nicolas#,*, E. (2017). Control of Gene Expression in Senescence through Transcriptional Read-Through of Convergent Protein-Coding Genes. Cell Rep 21, 2433-2446. §, # : Equal contributions;  * : Corresponding author. Highlighted publication by the INSB/CNRS: http://www.cnrs.fr/insb/recherche/parutions/articles2017/e-nicolas.html

Laurent GS, Vyatkin Y, Antonets D, Ri M, Qi Y, Saik O, Shtokalo D, de Hoon MJ, Kawaji H, Itoh M, Lassmann T, Arner E, Forrest AR, consortium F, Nicolas E, McCaffrey TA, Carninci P, Hayashizaki Y, Wahlestedt C, Kapranov P (2016). Functional annotation of the vlinc class of non-coding RNAs using systems biology approach. Nucleic Acids Res 44, 3233-52.

Lazorthes S, Vallot§ C, Briois§ S, Aguirrebengoa M, Thuret JY, Laurent GS, Rougeulle C, Kapranov P, Mann C, Trouche# D, Nicolas#,* E. (2015). A vlincRNA participates in senescence maintenance by relieving H2AZ-mediated repression at the INK4 locus. Nat Commun 6, 5971. §, # : Equal contributions;  * : Corresponding author. Publication highlighted by the INSB-CNRS http://www.cnrs.fr/insb/recherche/parutions/articles2014/e-nicolas.html

St Laurent, G., 3rd, Shtokalo, D., Dong, B., Tackett, M.R., Fan, X., Lazorthes, S., Nicolas, E., Sang, N., Triche, T.J., McCaffrey, T.A., Xiao, W., and Kapranov, P. (2013). VlincRNAs controlled by retroviral elements are a hallmark of pluripotency and cancer. Genome Biol 14, R73.

 

Anciens membres:

Marion Aguirrebengoa, Bioinformaticienne

Maharshi Deb, PhD

Sandra Lazorthes, PhD

Sébastien Briois, Bioinformaticien

Financements

           

Université Paul Sabatier
118 Route de Narbonne

31062 TOULOUSE Cedex
France

Annuaire général